Elected Officials

Member of Parliament
John Duncan, MP 250-338-9381

Member, Legislative Assembly of British Columbia
Hon. Don McRae, MLA 250-703-2422

Area A Director, Comox Valley Regional District
Director Bruce Jolliffe 250-335-1275

Local trustees, Islands Trust
Trustee Alex Allen 250-335-1129
Trustee Tony Law 250-335-1155

Trustee, Board of Education, School District #71
Trustee Lori Fowler

Hornby Island Governance

The governance of Hornby Island is divided between the Comox Valley Regional District (particularly in the person of the Area A Director) which has responsibility for services, the Hornby Island Residents' and Ratepayers' Association which administers some regional districts under contract and the Hornby Island Local Trust Committee which has responsibility for land use planning and regulation under the Islands Trust Act. These three entitiers strive to work closely together to effectively co-ordinate governance for the Island.

Comox Valley Regional District: The Comox Valley Regional District was established in 2008 and provides 87 services to 60,000 residents in an area of 1,725 square miles. The Board is composed of nine directors, 3 from the City of Courtenay, 2 from the Town of Courtenay 1 from the Village of Cumberland and 1 each from three electoral areas. The Chair is Director Fred Bates, Mayor of Cumberland.

Hornby Island is within Electoral Area A, which also includes Denman Island, Fanny Bay, Union Bay and Royston. Area A Director is Director Bruce Jolliffe

Hornby Island Residents' and Ratepayers' Association (HIRRA): The Comox Valley Regional District provides a number of services under contract with the Hornby Island Residents' and Ratepayers' Association, specifically Fire Protection and First Responders, Recycling and Solid Waste Disposal. Mount Geoffrey Regional Nature Park and Comfort Stations. These functions are over-seen by committees which are elected each year by the membership. The Executive, also elected by the membership, and HIRRA's Administrator maintains on-going liaison with the Regional District .

Islands Trust: The Islands Trust is a federation of independent local governments which plans land use and regulates development in the trust area with the purpose of carrying out the legislated object of the Islands Trust. The object of the Islands Trust is "to preserve and prrotect the trust area and its unique amenities and environment for the benefit of the residents of the trust area and of the province generally, in cooperation with municipalities, regional districts, improvement districts, other persons and organizations and the Government of British Columbia". The Chair of the Islands Trust is Trustee Sheila Malcolmson

The Islands Trust Council is made up of 26 trustees (including 2 municipal trustees from Bowen Island Municipality). Council has responsibility for adopting a budget, for administration of the Islands Trust, for approving bylaws and for creating and impementing the Islands Trust Policy Statement.

The Trust Fund Board is made up of 3 elected and 3 appointed trustees and is responsible for the Islands Trust Fund, a conservation trust which protects over 70 special places as nature reserves or through conservation covenants.

There are twelve local trust committees and one island municipality that each have most of the planning authority of a regional district for their local area.

Hornby Island Local Trust Committee

The Hornby Island Local Trust Committee is the local authority for land use planning and regulation. Responsibilities include adopting an Official Community Plan and Land Use Bylaw and considering land use applications. All proposed bylaws must comply with the Islands Trust Policy Statement. The Committee is made up of two local trustees and a chaiperson who is a Vice Chair of the Islands Trust.

Hornby Island Local Trust Committee's website includes planning bylaws, meeting schedule and minutes, various reports, application forms, contact information for planning staff and the means to send an email message to the Committee.

Government of British Columbia

The government of British Columbia provides a range of services which can be accessed through Service BC. The closest Service BC location is:

Service BC
5500 Cliffe Avenue
Courtenay, BC V9N 5M6
Governmet Agent: Robin Potts

Toll free access to any provincial government phone number can be obtained through 1-800-663-7867

The Premier of BC is Hon. Gordon Campbell
The MLA for Comox Vlley is Hon. Don McRae,

Government of Canada

Services of the Government of Canada can be accessed through Service Canada. The closest Service BC location is:

Service Canada
130 19th Street
Courtenay, BC V9N 8S1

Toll free access to federal services can be obtained through 1-800-622-6323
The Prime Minister of Canada is Rt.Hon. Stephen Harper
The MP for Vancouver Island North is John Duncan, MP

Comox Valley School District (School District #71)

The Comox Valley School District has responsibility for all schools in the district, including the Hornby Island Community School. The Board of Education is made up of 7 members. Its Chair is Susan Barr and the trustee for our area is Lori Fowler

Vancouver Island Health Authority (VIHA)

VIHA provides a broad range of health services including hospital, community and hmoe care as well as being responsible for environmental and public health services including education and prevention. Some services are provided under contract, as is the case on Hornby with the Hornby and Denman Community Health Care Society.

Other Agencies

Agricultural Land Commission
BC Assessment Authority
BC Hydro